Princeton’s close-knit residential college system is a cornerstone of the campus community. 

The seven colleges that comprise our residential college system—Butler, Forbes, Mathey, New College West, Rockefeller (Rocky), Whitman, and Yeh—are designed to blend living and learning experiences, offering a depth of support to students both inside and outside of the classroom. They include a broad community of advisers and professional staff who are invested in student success.

Heads of College

Inspired to cultivate inclusive communities, our heads of college nurture intellectual, social, and personal development.


Our residential college deans support students both academically and individually.


Faculty play a key role in shaping the student experience in our residential colleges.

Extended Communities of Support

In addition to core staff, numerous members of the Princeton community come together to support students in their residential colleges.