Departmental Concentrations

All Princeton undergraduates have to select a concentration — our term for a major. This is the departmental program of study that leads to your degree, either a Bachelor of Arts (A.B.) or a Bachelor of Science in Engineering (B.S.E.). If you are in the School of Engineering and Applied Science, you will choose your concentration at the end of first year. If you are in the A.B. program, you will choose in the spring of your sophomore year. You may choose a concentration from among the 36 departments in the humanities, social sciences, natural sciences and engineering shown below.