Paired with geographically adjacent Butler, First College houses about 500 first-year students and sophomores. First College was the first of the six residental colleges to be established, in 1968. The college includes a dance studio, black box theater, and the J Street Media Center and Library. Much of the college complex surrounds the Dodge-Osborn courtyard (pictured). AnneMarie Luijendijk, Professor of Religion, is the head of college. Her offices and those of the college staff are in Wilcox Hall.