Jill Dolan

she | her | hers
Dean of the College
Office Phone
403 Morrison Hall

Jill Dolan is the senior officer responsible for Princeton's undergraduate academic program. All matters relating to the curriculum, academic advising, academic regulations and scholastic standing fall under her aegis. Dean Dolan also oversees the Offices of Admission and Undergraduate Financial Aid, the Office of International Programs, the Program in Teacher Preparation, the Princeton Writing Program, the McGraw Center for Teaching and Learning, the Freshman Scholars Institute, the Scholars Institute Fellows Program, Health Professions Advising, the Community-Based Learning Initiative, the Office of Undergraduate Research, and the residential colleges.

Dean Dolan is the Annan Professor in English, and a professor of theatre studies in the Lewis Center for the Arts. She served for six years as the director of Princeton’s Program in Gender and Sexuality Studies, and is a faculty affiliate of the Program in American Studies. She holds a PhD in performance studies from New York University.

Among other books, she is the author of Wendy Wasserstein (a critical study of her plays); The Feminist Spectator as CriticUtopia in Performance: Finding Hope at the TheatreThe Feminist Spectator in Action: Feminist Criticism for the Stage and Screen. Her blog, The Feminist Spectator(link is external), won the George Jean Nathan Award for Dramatic Criticism in 2010-11. She received the American Society for Theatre Research career achievement award and the Association for Theatre in Higher Education Outstanding Teacher award.


For those who’d like to see Dean Dolan, please contact her executive assistant, Kris Gindele, at 609-258-3040 or [email protected] (link sends e-mail).

The dean does not have funds to disburse for individual or group projects, nor is she able to offer advice about where such funding can be obtained.

Areas of Responsibility
250th Anniversary Fund Proposals
Committee on Classrooms and Schedule
Committee on the Course of Study
Committee on Undergraduate Admission and Financial Aid
Curricular Innovations (250th Anniversary Fund)
Grading Policy
Shapiro Prize for Academic Excellence